top of page

Degrees of Freedom

I…want to live in order to satisfy all my capacities for life, and not simply my capacity for reasoning, that is, not simply one twentieth of my capacity for life.

F. Dostoevsky

David Doubilet. Diver and Cardinal Fish in Wire Coral Forest. 1946

The concept of humans breaking free from predestination is the only solace that keeps me sane amidst the boredom that often engulfs me. Sometimes, this idea feels hopeless, exacerbating my frustrations. Last night, in an attempt to stave off boredom, I turned to Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse-Five. Surprisingly, it did little to alleviate my restlessness. I continued reading, delving into topics like string theory and dark energy. However, the abstract nature of these subjects proved overwhelming, so I retired to bed.


The next day, a memory resurfaced of an article my friend Keana had shared months ago, penned by Eric Warrant, on the concept of sensory matched filters. Intrigued, I revisited the article. It revealed that all organisms on Earth possess biological adaptations in the form of limited and unique sets of "matched filters." These filtered senses aid in their survival and reproduction. As sentient beings bombarded by a myriad of stimuli, our bodies have evolved to detect and process only a fraction of what constitutes the vastness of our universe. We lack the capacity to perceive a wide range of stimuli. Unlike bats or tarsiers, for instance, we are not attuned to seeing ultraviolet colors or hearing ultrasound frequencies. Our brains and nervous systems have their limitations, as the allocation of energy for processing inefficient stimuli is highly costly and has been shed as an evolutionary burden for humans.


It would be fascinating to possess heightened senses such as extra-sensitive hearing, vision, or emotions, akin to other animals. With our intricate brains, it is not impossible to regain traits we have lost or traits that were once considered evolutionarily irrelevant. In fact, I have encountered several remarkable individuals who possess unique matched filters or abilities to detect certain stimuli that elude ordinary humans. One such person is my friend Twelve, who possesses a special pair of eyes or lenses that enable her to capture moments in time. This skill makes Twelve an equally impressive character in her own right, much like myself. My advisers, CC and Rosie, also possess unique sets of visual goggles, allowing them to discern intricate details with remarkable precision. Furthermore, there are individuals like Ivan, who can discern and produce unique sounds and music that may appear peculiar to the average person. Another friend has shown me a realm of experience that I lacked. Though he may despise my admission, his profound and enduring emotional sensitivity almost makes me long to possess the ability to feel emotions strongly. Perhaps the region of my brain responsible for intense emotions remains impaired from years of attempting to suppress them. I sense that it lies dormant within me, waiting to be reawakened, as colorful bursts of energy when triggered. I yearn to reclaim the repressed aspects of my being, and I am grateful that he unknowingly guided me toward methods of rediscovery.

John Gutmann. The Artist Lives Dangerously. 1938

John Gutmann. The Artist Lives Dangerously. 1938

What captivates me most about the individuals I mentioned earlier is not only their extraordinary matched filters but also their unwavering courage to boldly showcase their unique visions through their creations and art. It is through their exceptional abilities that I now perceive the world with heightened vibrancy and richness, transcending the confines of a mundane and one-dimensional existence. It undoubtedly required immense bravery for them to embrace and recognize these innate matched filters, enabling them to envision a boundlessly abundant world that remains invisible to the average human survival machine.


Feeling marginalized or unwanted due to one's special gifts is an expected outcome. However, it would be a disservice to oneself to cower or easily succumb to defeat when harshly judged by the masses. Even worse, distorting or altering one's work to conform to current trends, styles, or popularity would be an act of self-deprecation. Such works of posers exude palpable pretensions, as they deceive themselves and their crafts, stripping away the essence of matched filters and diluting the spirit of uniqueness and self-worth.


While I may never fully comprehend the intricacies of predestination or living within simulated universes, as I lack the expertise of a physicist, what I do understand is that the human survival machines are built upon blueprints containing codes that actively provide biologically and socially useful instructions for their maintenance and survival. These codes govern fundamental behaviors such as eating, sleeping, mating, and reproducing. However, concealed within this utilitarian spectrum of codes lie other unique codes that, when uncovered, mastered, and embraced, have the potential to unlock doors of perception that extend far beyond our limited understanding. These codes offer pathways to expand and redefine the essence of exceptional humanity, allowing us to exercise multiple degrees of freedom.

Ulay. White Mask. 1973




References/further readings:



1. Dostoevsky, F. (1999). Notes from the Underground, and The Gambler. OUP Oxford.

2. Huxley, A. (2010). The doors of perception: And heaven and hell. Random House.

3. Sahtouris, E. (1999). Earthdance: Living systems in evolution.

4. Von der Emde, G., ; Warrant, E. (Eds.). (2015). The ecology of animal senses: matched filters for economical sensing. Springer.

5. Vonnegut, K. (1969). Slaughterhouse-five: Or, the Children's Crusade, a Duty-dance with Death. ModernLibrary.

6. Warrant, E. J. (2016). Sensory matched filters. Current Biology, 26(20), R976-R980.

7. Wehner, R. (1987). ‘Matched filters’—neural models of the external world. Journal of comparative physiology A, 161(4), 511-531.




bottom of page