top of page

Goodbye, Six


Two Women on the Shore by Edvard Munch, 1898

Two Women on the Shore by Edvard Munch, 1898

"Nostalgia makes me sad, nostalgia makes me sad", were the last words Six murmured,

before succumbing to a silence so bad.


I thought it was my cue,

to go and rescue her from despair.

Finding her on the bedroom floor,

lost and dazed, needing my care.


I tried to lift her fragile form,

but she remained stiff as stone.

With a wave of my hand, a portal formed,

and together, to the sea, we were flown.


Six had love for me, that was true,

Six had always loved me deep.

But there was another, the ocean blue,

a love that caused her soul to weep.


She, vibrant and full of life's grace,

while I, the embodiment of darkness and death.

I needed her choice, to find our place,

an ultimatum to take her final breath.


We arrived at the shore, half-past six,

just moments before the sun's descent.

I sat her down, her gaze fixed,

hoping to offer solace, to ease her torment.


"Six, I brought you here to decide,

between the ocean and me, your love.

Whose embrace will forever reside?

Choose, for time waits not from above."


No response came, no words to share,

a silence that pierced the air.

I asked and asked, filled with despair,

but her answer remained a secret, unfair.


So I attempted to comfort her anew,

"It will be swift, painless, my dear.

Look at the stars, their eternal view,

like memories, shining bright and clear.


Those stars are lives I've claimed,

transformed, but never erased.

Their light travels across space untamed,

illuminating Earth's nights with grace.


Every night, as people gaze above,

they will remember you, my dear.

They will recall your essence, your love,

through the starlight that shines clear."


Still, no response broke her silence,

my attempts to lure her back were in vain.

Yet, I remained steadfast, with resilience,

waiting by her side till sunrise came again.


As the dawn painted the sky in hues,

the most beautiful sight I ever did see.

But amid the beauty, there were no clues,

no sign of Six, nowhere to be.


And so, I realized with a heavy heart,

she had made her choice, her path unknown.

Though her absence tore me apart,

I knew she had found a place to call her own.

bottom of page