top of page

Gift


by Imogen Cunningham


It is dishearteningly easy for my inner demons to manifest themselves through unconscious actions. The most valuable offering I can extend to you is my unwavering effort to resist the pull back into the monstrous nature that resides within me. Should the day come when we decide to coexist and tolerate each other's peculiarities, you may find yourself weary from witnessing these monsters awaken. However, given the cruel passage of time and the dwindling months ahead, I will exert every ounce of remaining goodness within me for your benefit. Though I am uncertain if any fragments of goodness still reside within my being. Goodness, in its essence, can be elusive and at times superficial, particularly when we have become so accustomed to an abundance of sorrow, anguish, and pain. I am at a loss as to how best to present this gift without appearing disingenuous, so I will fully comprehend if you choose not to accept it. I will understand if you prefer to immerse yourself in the darkness rather than bask in artificial moonlight.



Comments


bottom of page