top of page

A beauty that eludes what the naked eye can see


taken by Shigeru Onishi


The night is drawing in and the tangerine sky is waving goodbye to the rolling Mediterranean hills and the patches of olive trees dispersed here and there. The warm sun rays, like long arms outstretched in infinite horizons, seem to reach out in pursuit of the speeding steel train.


“Your time is up,” says the peeping silver majestic. “Time to shine your light on the other side of the world.”


“But then who will warm today’s crisp, cold night?” asked the golden sun.


“Come back again tomorrow,” says the silver majestic. “Tonight, ‘tis my turn to unveil a beauty that eludes what the naked eye can see.”


I cannot leave just yet,” insists the golden sun. “The winter is too harsh and only I can bring warmth to the night. Only I can awaken the blossoming flowers and nourish the trees and grass.”


Amidst a radiant glow, the silver majestic speaks with an air of discernment, “Such heroic sentiments resemble those uttered by foolish men. Do you know what befalls those who serve only the sun?”


“No,” admits the golden sun, slightly blushing with ignorance. “Please, do enlighten me.”


“Surely, you are aware of the consequences endured by creatures, such as most plants, when they are exposed to your intense sunlight for prolonged periods,” she remarks casually. “You tell me.”


The golden sun, now humbled, confessed, “Of course, they wither. They die…”


“So I will repeat myself once more,” says the silver majestic, radiating even greater astuteness. “Come back again tomorrow for tonight, ‘tis my turn to unveil a beauty that eludes what the naked eye can see.”


Comentários


bottom of page