top of page

Global pizza crisis



A majority of people who find safety and security in their city tend to become complacent, stagnant, and uninteresting. Take cosmopolitans like Laura, for example, who grew up in the vibrant and diverse City of London. She finds it challenging to transition to Barcelona, a city known for its laid-back Mediterranean vibe, despite being a popular expat destination. "Life in Barcelona in a nutshell:" she noted, "people work all week long and then party or go on hikes on weekends. The locals are close-knit. The climate is definitely better than in London, but after a while, the routine of partying and hiking every weekend can make life feel monotonous and flat. I miss the thrill, man. I miss the chase, the adrenalin, and the diverse folks you find in big cities like London."


Manila is fairly different from London but I have to agree with the bitch. There's some missing element in Barcelona that keeps it from maintaining a magical, ever-evolving atmosphere. "I know what you mean," I replied. "The people really make a city." We walked along the broad streets of Barceloneta as she took a drag from her cigarette. "Barcelona may appear diverse, but..." I hesitated and she looked at me as if she telepathically knew what I was about to say next. "It's more of a 'white diversity,' if you know what I mean," she said with a sarcastic chuckle.


I kept silent and reflected on the fact that I was the only Asian in the crowd. It felt like sailing against the current of pearly whiteness. People stared, and it was evident why. In their eyes, I could assume they either saw me as a lost tourist or a maid. I am not ignorant of how most white folks think. I'm aware of the stereotypes associated with Filipino immigrants as others leave little room for other first impressions. I momentarily pushed aside those unpleasant assumptions and recalled a reassuring comment from Oscar, my landlord.


He once asked, "What's a pretty little Asian doing in Barcelona? Sure as hell you're not looking for trouble as you look nothing like an ignorant buffoon. Quite the opposite, actually." Damn, I thought, I'd rather give off the impression that I'm an ignorant buffoon looking for trouble than a pretty little intellectual square. I might really be losing my edge...


I never want to forget about my motherland. I want to remember that beyond Barcelona's flawless Mediterranean facade, countless cities and people around the world still need help and rehabilitation. Of course, I don't aspire to personally rehabilitate them. I leave that task to my mother, who is deeply committed to aiding humanity. I think I can only go so far as contributing a poetic verse or a beautiful prose for humanity or simply putting it out there that there's still so much work to be done in order for humanity to progress. And there is indeed so much work.


The mindset of many Westerners, trapped in their comfort zones, is telling of a complacency with the current state of the world. They would rather remain in their bubble than face the hard truth that they bear some level of responsibility in assisting developing countries, especially those struggling to recover from the grip of their past ruthless conquerors. Yes, conquerors who devalued my people, considering them savage and in need of salvation from their so-called god.


And perhaps the only way to break free from this karmic loop is for both sides to acknowledge the past and work together to find solutions for the present I know I may sound like some new-agey guru, but it frustrates me to see so many Westerners who are vocal about issues like inequality or discrimination, yet are the first to revel in their own privileges or boast about understanding women empowerment, only to turn around and belittle women who choose to wear a hijab.


I recall a recent conversation I had with Charlie about climate change. She mentioned that Manila had been experiencing heavy rainfall, leading to flooded streets. In contrast, I mentioned that Barcelona had been enjoying sunny and refreshing weather. We both shared a sarcastic laugh, acknowledging the irony that while many developed countries are among the largest carbon polluters, it is the small developing countries like the Philippines that bear the brunt of the consequences. It's unfortunate that many people may be unaware of this reality or simply choose not to care since they are not directly affected. Charlie jokingly remarked, "Maybe a big storm should hit Italy soon, causing a global pizza crisis. That would definitely wake up Westerners..."


Comments


bottom of page