top of page

I am not different...

2018.03.21

by Saul Leiter


Once, while strolling through the evergreen,

I stumbled on a protruding root, losing my serene.

On my belly, I fell, almost crushing a black widow,

Helpless and tiny, its beauty did bestow.


With its dark hue and a red hourglass mark,

A female, I presumed, delicate and stark.

Under the intense tropical heat and my thud,

I pondered how humans claim superiority, a flood.


"I am not so different," I mused, lying there,

From a black widow's grace or a rose so fair,

Nor the mighty ocean or the stars above,

Or even a chocolate chip cookie, I truly love.


I am not so different from Charlie or Fran,

From Kez or Mom or even dear Monksy's plan.

If ever I declare myself as separate or apart,

Slap me hard, punish me, for it's a foolish art.

Comments


bottom of page