top of page

Tayda and S' secret


Witches in Saturnalia by Paul Ranson, 1891


Yesterday, I left the house to take my mind off of work and bitch Linda. I met up with two new friends, Albina and Tayda, whom I got acquainted with through an expat group on Facebook.


Albina is this pretty, petite Kazan Tatar girl with super pale skin, blonde hair, thin lips, and a cute button nose. Tay, on the other hand, is a Spanish Coca-Cola bombshell who grew up in Ecuador. She's got fair skin, big eyes, and long Monica Bellucci-style dark hair. Albina showed up late, so most of the day was spent hanging out with Tay.

Tayda’s a sweetheart, C. Hanging out with her for just one day was like a breath of fresh air compared to being around them stiffs in the institute who stifle my femininity.


Tay’s the embodiment of genZ—naïve, so optimistic about living her best life, obsessed with cryptocurrency, astrology, TikTok, traveling, and giving love advice to her seniors. She's a carefree, down-to-earth boss bitch who couldn't care less about what others think of her. And the best part is, unlike them squares at the institute, she doesn't try too hard to sound smart or deep just to impress folks. Her only desire was to form deep, genuine connections.


She goes with the flow and joins me in my strange antics like running red lights, laughing hysterically at random things, and swearing in a foreign language at the top of my lungs. I love her. She even calls me her lioness soulmate, a fellow queen and magnet of good fortune (whatever that means).


Finding someone like her is so rare because most of the people I attract are either broken or depressed (or pretending to be broken or depressed). Whenever she senses that I'm feeling down, she'd buy me a Long Island and share stories of her wild adventures in Ecuador. She said living there was a challenge for a free spirit like her. Most Ecuadorians are still traditional and conservative, so Tay was thought of as a bad seed and a no-good foreigner tart who tempted and lured Ecuadorians to her house to party and run crazy like wild horses. God. She reminds me so much of Anaïs Nin’s muses– “as a woman, and as a woman only.”


I wonder, C, how many gems like Tay are still left to this day. I am grateful I still have her, you, and Fran in my life. Most women in the workplace are cold stiffs. I don’t understand why they chose to be that way…


If there’s one thing Tay and I best agree on, it’s that most feminists are frauds. They preach about gender equality only to be the ones who divide humanity. They speak as though they’ve read the books and have done deep introspection on the dire consequences of their great aversion towards their own softness…


I guess the conservative part of me refuses to become a feminist for feminist sake. If what I bring to the table inspires a young girl to become a wannabe scientoast or a writer or a lil’ sunflower, then I’ve already done more than enough. I’d rather follow intuition than copy the opinions of everyone else’s. This applies to any subject matter—be it taste in music, art, literature, or coming up with a scientific hypothesis. I don’t want to simply write in avant-garde or listen to trippy music or engineer genes using CRISPR Cas9 just to jump on the bandwagon. I’d rather do something that speaks from the heart. Speaking from the heart is a rare feat as nobody’s true to themselves these days.


Tay thinks so too…

.



Comments


bottom of page